Maurice Fisher makes a break.
Maurice Fisher makes a break. Alex Treacy

Burnett side named for 47th Battalion

RUGBY LEAGUE: The South Burnett Eagles have proved they are the strongest team in the Burnett, scoring a win over the Central Burnett Brumbies.

The South Burnett side scored a 46-24 point win over the Brumbies in Mundubbera on Saturday.

While coach Jason Webber was proud of the effort the boys showed as a team he said the stand-out player of the game wore a Brumbies jersey.

"We didn't have a stand-out player, everyone did their job and everyone had playing time in their favourite position," he said.

"The best player was Central Burnett's five-eighth Zac Dann, he was outstanding and by far the best on the field.

"I was happy with the game and I was hoping they didn't score that many points but Dann set them all up and was good for them."

While the win earns the Eagles bragging rights, the aim of the game was to name the Burnett Brahmans representative side to play at the 47th Battalion on the Sunshine coast on May 4 and 5.

Webber, who will also coach the Brahmans side, helped select a 30 man training side for the battalion alongside Tony Mitchell and NRL game development officer Blake Mara.

When selecting the side, Webber accounted for player availability and the potential for injury.

"We will have three training runs starting this week with two in Murgon and one in Gayndah and we will trim the team down to 20 players as it gets closer," he said.

The Burnett players will face tough competition especially from the likes of the Sunshine Coast and Toowoomba who are earmarked as finals contenders.

Webber is looking forward to seeing the players test themselves and see where they match up.

"It will be a great time for something different and for the boys to play against better players and see how they fair," he said.

"We are hoping to swing some surprises and get some wins. It will be interesting to see how we go."



Eniokeli Foki, Barwoo Fisher, Brady Roberts, Eric Law, Vincent Law, Arthur Saltner, Zac Dann, Daniel West-Pes, Ryan Brown, Maurice Fisher, Luke Hedges, Tua Peti, Michael Giles, Patrick Alberts, Asofono Lemalu, Lehman Brunjes, Blake Jackson, Bailey Kimber, Sam Hopperman, Jayden Jarvis, Neil Stanley, Karl Berlin, Marty McCracken, Barry Tapau Fewquandie, Mark Fischer, Wade Stanton, Jameel Sullivan, Matt Stumer, Jeff Vaughan Blake Augustine.