Continuity ensured at region's health service

>>RELATED: Weighty problem facing region's hospitals

THE Darling Downs Hospital and Health Board will benefit from continuity, with three members reappointed for a further three years.

Minister for Health and Ambulance Services Steven Miles said the board, chaired by former Minister for Health and local MP Mike Horan AM, had provided strong leadership in the delivery of health services across the Darling Downs.

"I'm pleased to announce that Cheryl Dalton from Kingaroy, Dr Ross Hetherington from Warwick and Trish Leddington-Hill from Chinchilla have been reappointed to the Darling Downs Hospital and Health Board," Mr Miles said

"I congratulate these members and look forward to working with them to ensure Queensland's health system continues to thrive.

"This is a diverse group of people with a range of backgrounds, experience and skills, working together to ensure the community is well represented in the health space."

Darling Downs Hospital and Health board chair Mike Horan welcomed the reappointment of the three members.

"Under the steady guidance of the board, the Darling Downs Hospital and Health Service has been delivering improved healthcare to Darling Downs and South Burnett communities," Mr Horan said.

"We are very proud of our achievements in providing elective surgery within clinically recommended timeframes in an environment of increasing demand.

"DDHHS was the eighth health service in the world and the first regional service to partner with the Cognitive Institute in its Safety and Reliability Improvement Program, which is another great endorsement of the health service's standing.

"I thank all our board members for their work in providing the right direction to the DDHHS."

The Darling Downs Hospital and Health Board, effective May 18, 2018:

  • Mr Michael Horan AM (Chair)
  • Dr Dennis Campbell (Deputy Chair)
  • Ms Cheryl Dalton
  • Dr Ross Hetherington
  • Ms Patricia (Trish) Leddington-Hill
  • Mrs Marie Pietsch
  • Ms Megan O'Shannessy
  • Dr Ruth Terwijn
  • Professor Julie Cotter

The 16 boards throughout Queensland are responsible under the Hospital and Health Boards Act 2011 for local performance of their health services and the delivery of public health services within their communities.