Dropped: Kirstin Dwyer has been left out of the Hockeyroos squad for 2018.
Dropped: Kirstin Dwyer has been left out of the Hockeyroos squad for 2018. DAVID MARIUZ

Hockeyroos turn to youth for Tokyo Olympics

HOCKEYROOS coach Paul Gaudoin is looking ahead to the 2020 Tokyo Olympic Games by dropping veterans Kirstin Dwyer and Georgia Nanscawen from next year's squad.

Dwyer and Nanscawen, who have played 337 international games between them, will miss the Gold Coast Commonwealth Games and World Cup.

London Olympian Anna Flanagan, capped 166 times for Australia, also missed selection despite a strong domestic campaign after a break.

Gaudoin has gone for youngsters Lily Brazel and Savannah Fitzpatrick, who both have fewer than 20 caps.

"The squad we've selected is one that we think can help us achieve our performance benchmarks in 2018 but it's also a squad that can develop to achieve podium performance in Tokyo,” Gaudoin said.

The Australian women's team, ranked fourth in the world, will contest the Gold Coast Commonwealth Games in April and World Cup in London in July-August.

HOCKEYROOS 2018 SQUAD: Jocelyn Bartram, Kristina Bates, Edwina Bone, Lily Brazel, Jane-Anne Claxton, Ashlea Fey, Madison Fitzpatrick, Savannah Fitzpatrick, Jordyn Holzberger, Emily Hurtz, Stephanie Kershaw, Rachael Lynch, Karri McMahon, Georgina Morgan, Gabrielle Nance, Kaitlin Nobbs, Brooke Peris, Madi Ratcliffe, Kathryn Slattery, Emily Smith, Grace Stewart, Renee Taylor, Ashlee Wells, Mariah Williams, Georgia Wilson.