CALLED UP: James Maloney will line up at halfback for the Kangaroos against France on Friday.
CALLED UP: James Maloney will line up at halfback for the Kangaroos against France on Friday. Scott Barbour

Meninga rings the changes for France clash

KANGAROOS coach Mal Meninga has named four debutants for Friday's World Cup clash with France in Canberra.

Tom Trbojevic and Reagan Campbell-Gillard will start, while Cameron Munster and Felise Kaufusi will play off the bench.

They aren't the only changes in the Kangaroos line-up with Josh Mansour to play on the wing, James Maloney at halfback and Josh McGuire at lock.

Back-rowers Wade Graham and Tyson Frizell have been promoted to the starting side, while props Aaron Woods and David Klemmer will come off the interchange bench.

Cooper Cronk, Dane Gagai, Valentine Holmes, Boyd Cordner and Matt Gillett have been rested.

"I have made it very clear that I wanted to give all players in the squad a chance to play in the green and gold through the course of the World Cup and we are very much working towards that," Meninga said.

Meanwhile, England enforcer Sam Burgess will miss Saturday's clash with Lebanon.

Burgess will be sidelined for three to four weeks with a medial knee ligament injury.

Wayne Bennett has replaced him with Ben Currie, who made his England debut against Australia last week after getting a late call-up to replace Alex Walmsley, who had a virus. Walmsley has been included on the bench.

New Zealand have made a host of changes to their side ahead of their clash with Scotland.

Shaun Johnson has a new halves partner in Te Maire Martin, while there are three new faces in the backline in Jason Nightingale, Dean Whare and Peta Hiku.

Thomas Leuluai is set to be rested as well, with Elijah Taylor starting in the No.9 jersey, while Manly wrecking ball Addin Fonua-Blake is set to make his Kiwis debut off the bench.

Australia squad: 1. Billy Slater 2. Tom Trbojevic 3. Will Chambers 4. Josh Dugan 5. Josh Mansour 6. Michael Morgan 7. James Maloney 8. Jordan McLean 9. Cameron Smith (c) 10. Reagan Campbell-Gillard 11. Wade Graham 12. Tyson Frizell 13. Josh McGuire 14. Cameron Munster 15. Felise Kaufusi 16. Aaron Woods 17. David Klemmer 18. Valentine Holmes 19. Matt Gillett 20. Boyd Cordner 21. Dane Gagai