Clive Rose Getty

HIgh hopes for Seebohm and Larkin in Doha

QUEENSLANDERS Emily Seebohm and Mitch Larkin will spearhead Australia's campaign at the 2014 FINA World Short Course Championships, which begin in Doha tonight.

The 20-strong Aussie team flew out on Saturday ahead of the 12th staging of the event at the Hamad Aquatic Centre.

Buderim-born Larkin (pictured), 21, holds the Australian short-course records in the 100m and 200m backstroke and will contest both events in Doha, along with the 50m backstroke.

Brisbane-raised Seebohm, 22, the Australian short-course record-holder in the 100m backstroke, will race in the 50m, 100m and 200m backstroke, as well as the 100m and 200m individual medleys.

After a watershed season on the international stage that saw him win gold at both the Commonwealth Games and Pan Pacific Championships this year, Cameron McEvoy will also be aiming for gold in the 50m, 100m and 200m freestyle events.

"We have an exciting team heading over to Doha with a number of new rising stars joining some already experienced and world-class swimmers," Swimming Australia head coach Jacco Verhaeren said.

The team has three debutants - Queenslanders Daniel Smith, Leah Neale and David Morgan.

The championships will run for five days and feature about 900 swimmers from around the world.