Oklahoma City Thunder guard Russell Westbrook.
Oklahoma City Thunder guard Russell Westbrook. Marcio Jose Sanchez

Westbrook a shock omission from All-Star starting sides

MONTHS of votes have been tallied and the starters for the 2017 NBA All-Star game have been named.

The official announcement was made by the NBA on Friday morning (AEST), revealing the 10 players who'll be starting for their respective conferences at the New Orleans event.

The obvious omission from the Western Conference backcourt is Oklahoma City Thunder guard Russell Westbrook, who's currently averaging a triple-double. Stephen Curry has the advantage of being the more popular player, something that likely gave him an edge in the fan voting.

Curry will be making his fourth All-Star appearance, while James Harden will make his fifth, and Kawhi Leonard will make his second. Anthony Davis was named to his fourth - his first as a starter - while Kevin Durant will feature in his eighth.

In the Eastern Conference starting line-up, Kyrie Irving will be making his fourth All-Star appearance, while DeMar DeRozan will make his third. LeBron James continues his stellar All-Star run with his 13th, Jimmy Butler is set to make his third, while Giannis Antetokounmpo will be making his debut at the NBA's signature event.

The reserves for the All-Star game will be selected by coaches and will be announced on January 27 (AEST).

The game is on February 19 in New Orleans.


Stephen Curry, Golden State Warriors

James Harden, Houston Rockets

Kevin Durant, Golden State Warriors

Kawhi Leonard, San Antonio Spurs

Anthony Davis, New Orleans Pelicans


Kyrie Irving, Cleveland Cavaliers

DeMar DeRozan, Toronto Raptors

LeBron James, Cleveland Cavaliers

Jimmy Butler, Chicago Bulls

Giannis Antetokounmpo, Milwaukee Bucks